Planning & Zoning Commission

  1. Mike Allen

    Place 1
    Term Expires: December 2018

  1. Calvin Rumph

    Place 2
    Term Expires: December 2017

  1. Tommy Ryals

    Place 3
    Term Expires: December 2021

  1. Matthew Kilpatrick

    Place 4
    Term Expires: December 2019

  1. Mike Whitaker *

    Place 5
    Term Expires: December 2020

  1. Gary Wright *

    Place 6
    Term Expires: December 2018

  1. Mark Harris *

    Mayor's Designee
    Term Expires: November 2020

  1. Jeff Anthony *

    Administrative Official
    Term Expires: November 2020

  1. Kerri Pate *

    City Council Member
    Term Expires: November 2020

  1. Fri Mar. 1 - Sun Mar. 31

  2. Sun Mar. 31

    Teen Council Application Process Through March 31st To apply for a position on the Alabaster Teen Council.
  3. Mon Apr. 1

  4. Thu Apr. 4

  5. Sat Apr. 6

    Clean Sweep | Volunteer Pickup Please click on the page link and fill-out the forms which must be completed to participate in the Volunteer Day.
  6. Sat Apr. 13

    Clean Sweep | E-Recycling, Shred-It Event Shred-It Secure Document Shredding will be onsite to shred paper documents. Protec Recycling provides state-wide pickups for businesses and government, collecting obsolete and/or no-longer-used computers, electronics and IT equipment to be recycled in an environmentally-friendly way with no compromise to data security.
View All
* Members appointed on June 8, 2016 to complete terms are listed with an asterisk (*) after their name.


The Alabaster Planning and Zoning Commission has 9 members with staggered six-year terms:
  • One appointment is a council member selected by the City Council
  • One appointment is the Mayor or his/her designee
  • One appointment is an administrative official of the municipality chosen by the Mayor
  • Six appointments are made by the Mayor

The statute authorizing this commission's authority provides different terms for certain members in Class 1 cities and in cities with a population of 175,000 to 275,000.

General Duties and Powers

  • To provide planning, zoning and subdivision controls for the municipality.
  • In general, the commission shall have such powers as may be necessary to enable it to fulfill its functions, promote municipal planning or carry out the purposes of Chapter 52, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.
  • The Commission shall have the power to promote public interest in and understanding of the master plan and to that end may public and distribute copies of the plan or of any report and may employ such other means of publicity and education as it may determine.
  • Member of the Commission, when duly authorized by the Commission, may attend municipal planning conferences or meetings of municipal planning institutes or hearings upon pending municipal planning legislation, and the commission may, by resolution, spread upon its minutes, pay the reasonable traveling expenses incident to such attendance.

Statutory Authority

Section 11-52-1, et seq, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.